one way

Posted: March 16, 2010 in Random thoughts

Coloring books reveal a lot about who you are.
Do you use bright colors? or darker colors? Do you think about how much crayon you need to use or go all out and use up all your favorite colors? And the most important, do you color within the boundaries of the “line” or venture off into the unknown and (gasp) color outside the lines?

I get random impulses to drive on the wrong side of the road. Any chance I get, I like driving through the median line that separates oncoming and going traffic. When there is puddle of water, I HAVE to go over it, even if I need to go off the road a little bit.
I get impulses to drive up one way streets, go 100mph or more on the highway and especially these days, to just say whatever is on my mind.

I found myself drawn to Marcel M. from missions weekend simply because he was ‘different’. He had crazy hair, ear rings and wore trendy clothes. And having listened to his heart and life, I realized how legit he was. He was a genuine guy wanting to genuinely live for God. He loved souls. Loved Jesus. AND he was so ‘out of the box’… he did things with crayons I only imagined was possible. I was inspired!

These days, I find myself drawn to what is not suppose to be. Not in a rebellious sense, but trying to re-color the cultural norm and cfc norm with the colors of Scripture and see what the Artist really sees as Art. I’m tired of or color blind-ed by the same drawings and paintings I’ve seen over the years. And all those solid pictures that are drawn in-between the lines are great, don’t get me wrong. But, there is something deep in me, in my core, that just wants to draw things in different ways. Same colors, same goal, same Artist but with different Art.

But, just as I am fearful of driving through a One Way street or going 100 mph or really saying what I really want, this could all be my rebellious kid in me wanting some release. Or… just maybe, the real “me” is wanting to come out and I’m just scared to show everyone what I really want to do with these colors that the Artist has entrusted to me. For at the end of the day, it won’t matter what people think of my art or what they do with it. All I should be concerned about is what I did with the colors that The Artist has revealed to me and provided. Because on That Day, I know everyone will have different art to show for, it’ll all be different. It’s just trying to figure out what kind of artist I should be, is the hard part. You can only draw with the Artist to a certain point until He tells you to go outside, take your colors and start drawing on your own… and for me, it’s kinda freaky because I don’t want to make a mistake, or do something wrong or even worse, to hear from people that, that isn’t the way your suppose to do it. Or, I don’t like the way you painted that.

It’s a slow process but I want the true artist to come out soon. I’m learning how to draw, color, add accents, depth, and I’ve even been able to see others do it… and this past weekend, I was able to see someone who was drawing in 3D!!! I never knew it was possible. And now, the possibilities are endless.

And it’s great because I know I have the greatest Artist to enable me and guide me. And I’ve been slowly getting more colors in my box to draw. And actually, He’s been using a pencil to sketch out what this final product is suppose to look like. When He wasn’t looking (or at least, I didn’t think he was…), I tried some stuff on my own but that never works out. So, we erased that out and we are in the process of sketching out a general direction before I get working and coloring the pieces. But, when it comes down to it, I just have too much fear to pick up the brush and actually use the colors. What if I mess up? What if it doesn’t turn out well? What if people don’t like it or approve of it?

I believe there is One Way… for Salvation. But that doesn’t mean we all gotta dress the same, look the same, smell? the same! 🙂 I can be different. God is the greatest Artist. He made everyone unique. So, what’s the problem Sean???

I’m just in the process of finding what kind of artist GOD wants me to be…

And this is the “X-Factor” for AI, esp this season. The ones that know what type of artist they want to be, they are the ones that get far. Right now, I’m just not sure. It can be anything, as long as I am serving God in a full time way as a vocation. And when I am confused, at least I know the type of artist I must always strive to become… Jesus. Dude, he knows what’s up.

I’m just all over the place.

Comments
  1. Henry Wu says:

    Great post. 🙂

    Coloring is fun.

Leave a comment