Just Give Up

Posted: March 31, 2010 in Random thoughts

These days, I’ve been overwhelmed and tempted to just give in and give up. And I was reminded of this clip…

This clip blesses me so much because he doesn’t have much yet he doesn’t give up. He has many reasons to give in and give up. Yet, he’s smiling, he’s influencing and he’s Living.
I saw this again today and was reminded how much I’ve been blessed but how much I whine and complain and get bitter.

For this 2010 Passion week, I’ve been asking and praying… and begging… for God to show me why I live the kind of life I do. Why am I such a unfocused follower? Why do I always blame my circumstances? Why am I so divided?

In short, I give up way too easily.

JUST GIVE UP… JUST GIVE IN… is probably the biggest mind war I fight.
When things get hard, I find escapes or the easy way out. When faced with the narrow path, I opt for the wider road. The comfortable road.
When people frustrate me or disappoint me, I blame them, not my lack of love and patience and understanding.
When temptations flirt with me, I don’t yell it away but I converse with it, often, casually.
I give up. again and again.
That’s my problem.
And the thing is, I know I will always give in, give up and not fight. That is who I am.

But this passion week and as I await Sunday… I am aware once again how much I need JESUS!
I needed JESUS to not give up on me.
I needed JESUS to fight for me.
I needed JESUS to live and to die for me.
Because I cannot do it. I could never do it.

Jesus could have easily given up.
He could’ve spoken up when he was mocked and belitted but he remained silent.
He could’ve easily called the army of Angels to come down and bring justice.
He could’ve revealed His Glory and cause everyone to bow down with one whisper.
He could’ve let us be and let our sins lead us to Death forever.

HOWEVER, JESUS didn’t…
because JESUS loved and loves us too much!
He would never give up on us.

So, just give up?
In comparison to what Jesus had done for me and IS doing for me, how could I “just” give up…
Just like him, I wanna fight until the end… or at least, keep getting up after I fall…

I easily want to give up but I know I can keep on going because JESUS NEVER GAVE UP ON ME NOR WILL HE EVER GIVE UP ON ME.
And I’m realizing a mere “Thank you JESUS…” is not enough.
I must give everything, my desires, thoughts, relationships, the future, my whole Life to Him.
You get it all. Everything.
May ‘giving up’ not be an option because of Jesus.

And if you feel like giving up sometimes like me, watch some of these videos to encourage you. And may GOD strengthen you!

Leave a comment